A Splinter in the Heart

A Splinter in the Heart

(from the novel by Al Purdy)
Director                                  Sarah Phillips
Stage Manager                      Rob Middleton*
Composer/Music Director  Andrew Penner
Set Designer                          John Thompson
Costume Designer               Anne Redish
Musician/Foley                     Tom Keenan

Cast: Ben Chiasson, Stuart Clow*, Caitlin Driscoll*, Darcy Gerhart*, John Jarvis*

* The participation of these Artists are arranged by permission of Canadian Actors’ Equity Association under the provisions of the Dance·Opera·Theatre Policy.

World Premiere!

Late in his career poet Al Purdy wrote a novel set in his birthplace – Trenton, Ontario. In 2014 Festival Players commissioned Dave Carley to adapt it for the stage.

It’s the end of the First World War, a young man struggles to find his place in the world, discovering love and confronting change. His town is busy with the war effort, a new young gal arrives at school and catches his eye, and he spends his days swimming in the Trent, imagining where he might go and what he might become. On Thanksgiving Day 1918, when Trenton is decimated by an explosion at the British Chemical plant, his life and his town are forever altered.

It’s a little-known piece of Canadian wartime history, brought vividly to life through Purdy’s imagination and through playwright Dave Carley’s sparkling and delightful adaptation. Lovely, funny, heart-warming.

August 3 – 21 @ Rosehall Run Vineyards near Wellington
Running time: 90 minutes plus intermission

Production Sponsor:
rr crest and name

 

 

Come and enjoy A Splinter in the Heart under the Grand Tent at Rosehall Run Vineyards.

PICNICtwitterPicnic Food Truck will be on site serving up fresh, local, healthy meals at Rosehall Run. A Picnic Theatre package is available click here for more information. View PICNIC’s 2016 MENU.

Performance Schedule

(Click or Call to Purchase Tickets – Call or Email to Redeem 4packs)

Wednesday August 3 – 6:30 PM – Preview SOLD OUT
Thursday August 4 – 6:30 PM – Opening SOLD OUT
Friday August 5 – 1:30 PM Matinée, PWYC
Friday August 5 – 6:30 PM
Saturday August 6 – 6:30 PM
Sunday August 7 – 1:30 PM
Wednesday August 10 – 6:30 PM
Thursday August 11 – 6:30 PM – TALKBACK
Friday August 12 – 1:30 PM – Matinée
Friday August 12 – 6:30 PM
Saturday August 13 – 6:30 PM
Sunday August 14 – 1:30 PMMatinée
Wednesday August 17 – 6:30 PM
Thursday August 18 – 6:30 PM – TALKBACK
Friday August 19 – 1:30 PM Matinée
Friday August 19 – 6:30 PM
Saturday August 20 – 1:30PMMatinée
Saturday August 20 – 6:30 PM
Sunday August 21 – 1:30 PMMatinée